

# MINUTES OF THE FORTIETH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE INSTITUTE OF DIRECTORS, CANTERBURY BRANCH, HELD ON 20 MARCH 2024 COMMENCING 5.09PM AT THE GEORGE, 50 PARK TERRACE, CHRISTCHURCH

#### 1. Present

Alan Robson Albert Brantley Andrew Robinson Barry Paterson Ben Leith Blair Smith Brian Wood Bruce Ullrich Carol Bellette **Charlotte Sullivan Christine Prince David Ferguson** David Pigou David Tier Fiona Pimm Flavia Timiani-Dean Geoff Hardacre Geordie Hooft Hannah Doney Ian McKnight James Pomeroy Jane Cartwright Jemma Balmer Jess Riddell John Blyth John Ruge Johnny McFarlane Kathryn Ruge

Lauren Quaintance Liz Naylor Lloyd Mander Lyndsey Dance Madeleine Martin Mark Rogers Mike Killick Murray Lapworth Paul Barclay Paul Bingham Paul Rhodes Paulette Elliott Pete Barrowclough Philippa Jones **Rachel Hillyer Rachelle Mathews** Rebecca Scott **Rex Williams Richard Lauder** Rob Campbell Robin Mann **Ronnie Cooper** Sabine Parry Simon Markham Simon Taylor Sue Sheldon Vanessa Doig Vincent Pooch Vinni Pietras-Jensen Zhanna Weet

**Apologies:** Angela Desmarais Anna Bolland Blair Smith Catherine McMillan Daryn Govender Dennis Parker **Diane Mollenkopt** Graham Ewing Grant Adams Ian Lothian John Barr Liam Nolan Lynn McClelland Mads Moller Mariann Matai **Neil Hamilton** Pam Clarke Peter Young **Rachel Fitzgerald Richard Ballantyne Richard Hegan Rob Bishop** Rob Wilson **Rosalind Black** Sophie McInnes Steve Hills Susan Goodfellow **Timothy Edwards** Tracy Taylor **Trevor Thornton** Tule Fanakava Misa Tyrone Campbell

## 2. Welcome

Branch Chair Mr Lloyd Mander welcomed attendees to the 41<sup>st</sup> Annual General Meeting of the Institute of Directors Canterbury Branch. He extended a special welcome to guest speaker Rob Campbell and facilitator Lauren Quaintance.

Mr Mander welcomed IoD Distinguished Fellows Dr Robin Mann, Ms Sue Sheldon, Mr Bruce Ullrich and Mr Rex Williams, as well as Chartered Fellows and Chartered members and members present.

Mr Mander acknowledged the support of branch sponsors Nexia New Zealand, Pivot & Pace and University of Canterbury, and national partners ASB Bank, Dentons, Kordia and Marsh.

Mr Mander noted that, as discussed in a recent IoD article (<u>Seconding...but why?</u>), a seconder would not be required for any motions made.

Mr Lloyd Mander MOVED that apologies as tabled be accepted. CARRIED.

# 3. Confirmation of Previous Minutes

Mr Lloyd Mander MOVED that the minutes of the 40<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting held on 20 March 2023 having been circulated to all members be adopted as a true and correct record. CARRIED.

# 4. Chairman's Report

Mr Mander spoke briefly to his Branch Chair's Annual Report for 2023, which had been circulated to all members via the branch newsletter and made available on the IoD's website.

He reminded the meeting that the Branch's financial accounts form part of the IoD national accounts and local branch activities target a close-to-breakeven result, noting that Canterbury Branch achieved a positive result for 2023.

Mr Mander offered his heartfelt thanks to the branch committee for their commitment, insights and contributions which have been instrumental to the branch's activities and initiatives during the year. He also thanked members for their support during 2023: *E hara taku toa, i te toa takitahi, he toa takitini – my strength is not as an individual, but as a collective.* 

There were no questions in relation to the Chair's report and Mr Barry Paterson MOVED the adoption of the report. CARRIED.

# 5. Election of Branch Committee

Mr Mander noted that under the branch constitution, one-third of the branch committee retire by rotation each year but are eligible to stand again without nomination. Mr Mander advised that Mr Daryn Govender, Mr Richard Hegan, Mr Geordie Hooft and Mr Mark Rogers were retiring from the branch committee and were therefore not available for re-election. Mr Barry Paterson was co-opted onto the branch committee during 2023 and, as per the constitution, would stand for formal election tonight.

Mr Mander said it was heartening to have such strong interest and support from members with an additional seven nominations received from Ms Carol Bellette, Mr Rob Bishop, Ms Lynn McClelland, Dr Vinni Pietras-Jensen, Mr Jame Pomeroy, Ms Sue Sheldon and Mr Simon Taylor.

Mr Mander thanked all candidates for playing such an important part in this process and confirmed that, with eight nominations for five vacancies, an election would be required and outlined the branch committee competencies. He then asked each candidate to briefly introduce themselves, reading out Rob and Lynn's bios in their absence.

## Appointment of Scrutineers

It was MOVED by Jane Cartwright that Branch Manager Sharynn Johnson and Branch Executive Kim Gerard be appointed as scrutineers. CARRIED

Mr Mander asked members to complete the voting paper on their seat advising that no proxy votes would be taken. He advised that the results would be announced following the guest speaker's presentation. The voting was completed and voting papers collected by the Branch Manager and Branch Executive.

## 6. General Business

## Committee acknowledgement

Mr Mander recorded with gratitude the contributions of departing committee members Mr Geordie Hooft (9 years tenure including 4 years as Branch Chair), Mr Mark Rogers (6 years), Mr Richard Hegan (absent - 4 years) and Mr Daryn Govender (absent – 2 years) and presented Geordie and Mark with a gift basket and certificate. Mr Mander advised that a presentation had been made to Daryn in February and a presentation would be made to Richard at a future event.

## Presentation of Charted certificates

Mr Mander presented Mr Blair Smith and Mr Ben Leith with their Chartered Member certificates.

## Guest speaker

As no further general business had been advised, Mr Mander introduced guest speaker Rob Campbell who was interviewed by Lauren Quaintance on a range of topics including improving leadership diversity, promoting sustainability as a core value, and creating equality in organisations.

#### 6. Election Results

Mr Mander announced all votes had been counted and that Mr Barry Paterson, Ms Carol Bellette, Mr James Pomeroy, Ms Lynn McClelland and Ms Sue Sheldon had been selected by members to represent the Canterbury branch.

Mr Lloyd Mander MOVED that Mr Barry Paterson, Ms Carol Bellette, Mr James Pomeroy, Ms Lynn McClelland and Ms Sue Sheldon be appointed as Canterbury branch committee members for the next three years. CARRIED.

Mr Geordie Hooft MOVED that the voting papers be destroyed by the Branch Manager. CARRIED.

Mr Mander advised that the Branch Chair for 2024 would be appointed by the branch committee at their April committee meeting and duly advised to members.

#### 7. Close

Mr Mander reminded attendees of upcoming events in April. Mr Mander thanked members for their support of the Institute of Directors and declared the 41<sup>st</sup> Canterbury Branch Annual General Meeting closed at 6.38pm.

