

LEADING GOVERNANCE | Thursday 4 April 2024

Institute of Directors Wellington Branch

34th Annual General Meeting Minutes



Institute of Directors (Inc.) Wellington Branch 34th

Annual General Meeting Minutes

Held at KPMG, Level 6/44 Bowen Street, Wellington Central, Wellington 6011

Present

Wellington Branch Committee Members:

Suse Reynolds (Chair), Herman Visagie, Jackie Lloyd, Murray Sherwin, Nives Botica Redmayne, Rachel Farrant, Pania Gray

Member attendance:

65 members were in attendance.

Also in attendance:

Jill Dawson (Wellington Branch Manager)
Jacinda Rapley (Wellington Branch Executive)
KP Patterson (IoD Chief Executive)
Brendon Bentley (Chief Finance and Technology Officer)
Jill Steffert (Network Manager – Branches)
Sophi Rose (General Manager Brand, Strategy and Engagement)
Mark Russell (Head of Strategic Communications)
Juanita Hudson (Professional Development Advisor Team Leader)

Apologies

Apologies received from the following:

Ralph Green (MInstD Retd)
Brent Chalmers (MInstD)
Lisa Tipping (MInstD)
Ross Tanner (FInstD Retd)
Chris Day (CMInstD)
Leo Lonergan (CFInstD)
Anne Urlwin (Wellington Branch Committee Member)
Brad Olsen (Wellington Branch Committee Member)
Garth Cowie (Wellington Branch Committee Member)
Kennie Tsui (Wellington Branch Committee Member)
Mike Devonshire (Wellington Branch Committee Member)
Michael Fraser (General Manager, Learning and Branch Engagement)



Welcome

Suse Reynolds, Chair of the Wellington Branch Committee opened the meeting at 5.25pm, welcomed our attendees and advised her intention to efficiently work through the agenda.

The Chair thanked KPMG for hosting us, acknowledged Graeme Edwards as their attendee representative and invited Graeme to give Health and Safety briefing.

Minutes

A copy of the minutes of the 33rd Annual General Meeting dated 31 May 2023 was made available to members on IoD's website one month prior to the AGM.

Minutes approved by: Rachel Farrant

Chair's Report

The Chair read the Annual Report and summarised some highlights as follows:

- Chair encouraged members to ask for help when faced with challenges and to make use of the loD community.
- o IoD Wellington Branch committee is responsible for connecting the IoD to the interests of local members. The committee's plan to achieve this is by incorporating the Top 5 Issues, a commitment to grow engagement, so members feel this is a fun organisation to be a part of which you get value from, where you can learn and make connections to people and resources easily. All interactions will be underpinned with a deep empathy for Te Ao Māori, people and the planet.
- Although the IoD is a governance-focused organisation, the role of the branch committee
 volunteers is very much a hands-on one. The committee meets every two months to plan how
 they can add value to the members while supporting Branch Manager, Jill Dawson, and Branch
 Executive, Jacinda Rapley.
- Chair acknowledged committee members Anne Urlwin, Brad Olsen, Mike Devonshire, Rachel Farrant, Dr Nives Botica-Redmayne, Garth Cowie, Herman Visagie, Murray Sherwin, Pania Gray, Kennie Tsui and IoD President Jackie Lloyd for support since becoming Chair in December 2022. Chair is pleased with the diversity of the committee and the great discussions that brings. Reminded members to reach out to committee if they need support.
- Wellington Branch did not meet ambitious national growth target for membership but with committees focus on engagement they are pleased to announce 8% increase in member engagement statistics which was the highest growth of all branches. We sit at 39% of our members identifying as females, again highest percentage of the branches. Almost 12% identify as Māori. There is still an uplift required to get to population parity for women and Maori. We delivered 36 events in 2023 which is an increase of six from 2022.
- We also welcomed three Distinguished Fellows Alan Isaac, Rick Christie and Robin Hapi in 2023.
- Thanked our Wellington Branch Sponsors ASB, Dentons, BDO Manawatu and PwC Hawke's Bay

The Chair offered the opportunity for members to ask any questions or make comments regarding her Annual report.



Chair's report approved by: Murray Sherwin

Election

In accordance with the Wellington Branch Constitution, one third of the Wellington Branch Committee retire by rotation each year but are eligible for re-election without nomination. Committee members Anne Urlwin and Rachel Farrant retire in rotation and are available for re-election. As we did not receive any further nominations by the closing date and we have no vacant spaces on the committee, an election will not be required tonight. Instead IoD members present were asked to accept the re-election of Anne Urlwin and Rachel Farrant.

Re-election of committee members approved by: Pania Grav

The Branch Constitution allows for members to be co-opted onto the committee during the year should additional resources be required. Any member co-opted onto the committee must stand for election at the next AGM. Last year Kennie Tsui was co-opted onto the committee so IoD members present were asked to accept the co-opt of Kennie Tsui onto the branch committee.

Co-opt of committee member approved by: Jackie Lloyd

2024 IoD Wellington Branch Committee as:

Suse Reynolds (Chair), Brad Olsen (Deputy Chair), Anne Urlwin, Mike Devonshire (Hawkes Bay sub-committee chair), Rachel Farrant, Dr Nives Botica-Redmayne (Manawatu sub-committee chair), Garth Cowie, Herman Visagie, Murray Sherwin, Pania Gray, Kennie Tsui and Jackie Lloyd (IoD President)

General Business

There being no further business noted, the meeting concluded at 5.34pm.

Chair Date 12 April 2024

